Crimson Skins by Devika Mathur REVIEW

I was given a free document of this book in exchange for a review. That has in no way influence my opinions on the book!

RATING: 3.75/5 stars

THE REVIEW:

Crimson Skins is a collection of poetry written by Devika Mathur. You can find her blogging at My Valiant Souls. Check out her website for more information about her upcoming book as well to get an example of her work!

I personally found Crimson Skins to be a very interesting collection of poetry. It is very unique and focuses more on words and using language to evoke emotions. My one big problem is that sometimes I found it a little unclear what certain poems were trying to say, but again, I think the point of the book is less on meaning and more on language. And the language was really beauitful! Devika Mathur is a great writer.

My favorite poems were Floral, Conjunction of Lovers, Silhouette, A Surgery, A Maniac, Beneath, A Thing about winters, Winter trees,  and A buzz in mind. But there were tons of other really good and interesting ones. There were a few that I didn’t enjoy as much but usually that is true with most poetry books I read!

One of the best things about this book in my opinion, is the fact that it is mostly poetry. There are very few passages of prose. Some people can pull off prose BUT overall when I read poetry books I want lots of poems, and Devika Mathur definitely delivered in that regard. There are probably about 100 poems in the book. And about 4 or 5 passages of prose.

Overall, I would recommend Crimson Skins to those who like poetry that focuses more on words, language and evoking emotions. It was a very good collection, and I got into it very easily and really flew through it!

Remember, go check out Devika Mathur’s website/blog to learn more about Crimson Skins and to see some of the author’s other works of poetry!

 

7 thoughts on “Crimson Skins by Devika Mathur REVIEW

Leave a comment